Japan, Dream Adventure(s)

I am as addicted interested in skincare and makeup (the former more than the later) as much as the next girl, but, I admit that I also had my weird (tomboy) phase when I was younger. Growing up with mainly older male family member influences and the increasing exportation of anime when I was a child (does anyone remember Cartoon Network’s Toonami?) in addition to my mother’s obsession with Sailor Moon (and she is currently reading/watching Naruto, Bleach, Full Metal Alchemist, Sword Art Online…etc. haha..gotta love her!!), it is no wonder that Japan is my ultimate dream destination! PLUS, No Doubt was one of my favorite bands when I was in Middle School. Gwen Stefani’s harajuku girls, enough said (“so kawaii”!!).

The culture, the different unique districts (like Shibuya!), the fashion, the technology…it all draws me in!Ramen Don’t even get me started on the food!! Udon, sashimi, katsu, japanese curry, soba, sea red tuna, ramen (and not the ramen that I ate when I was a college student either)…AH! Though, wasabi remains to be the one thing I can’t take. Mistake it for guacamole once as a child and eat the entire blob in one bite and let’s see if anyone wouldn’t be scarred. I can’t be the only one that has made that mistake, right?!

 

 

The culture is rich and the traditions of ancient Japan can still be seen today. From Japan’s well preserved temples to the continuous living art that are the geishas, much of Japan’s ancient history continues to be preserved in the midst of a technological powerhouse that is modern day Japan. If it were possible to spend months travelling through Japan and experience all that I want to see, I would be one very happy woman 🙂 In the midst of these random day dreams, reality always seems to hit me like a wrecking ball (darn you Miley for making such an addicting song!! my music guilty pleasure) and I am reminded that I still have years of studying to go through and school debts to pay. If I were financially capable, I would LOVE to go to Japan more than once! These are the places that I DEFINITELY need want to visit, but this is but a small list compared to all of the places to visit, food to eat, and things to experience that I have listed down in the possibility that I may really have a future trip to Japan.

  1. Kyoto’s Ancient Sites

Specifically, I want to see the Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine, which is lined by many tori/gates, and the Kinkaku-ji Temple, a small temple wrapped in pure gold. I hope that they are just as majestic in real life as they are in photographs.

Day 155 | Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine, Kyoto, Japan Golden Pavillion                

 

 

  1. Hiroshima’s Peace Memorial Park and Museum

The Memorial Park and museum is dedicated to the victims of the August 6, 1945 atomic bombing. There is also the A-Bomb Dome which is a reminder of the destruction that befell the city. The Children’s Peace Monument which was erected to commemorate the many children who suffered from the residual radiation; it always decorated by origami cranes sent from children worldwide.  

  1. Floating Gate of Itsukushima Shrine on Miyajima Island, Hiroshima

The torri/gate appears to be floating at high tide and is accessible by foot during low tide. I’m still undecided which I would prefer to view the Floating Gate in. Which would you prefer? Is there even a way to predict which dates the low/high tide months in advance? 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Itsukushima Shrine.low

 

 

  1. Matsumoto Castle

As Japan’s oldest castle with 400 years of history, it still maintains its original wooden interiors and its exterior stonework. 

 

  1. Ryokan stay

Ryokan Ryokans are Japanese guest houses in a traditional style building usually surrounded by beautiful gardens and houses its own hot spring. Typically, the stay at a ryokan includes breakfast and dinner as a kaiseki (traditional multi-course dinner). Futons are still used and yukatas are typically provided so that guests can have a more intimate experience. Personally, I would LOVE to go to Japan in around February! Not only are there winter festivals during this time (more to come on that later), but soaking in an outdoor natural hot spring in the midst of snow would be beautiful!

Aaaaand it may be partly due to wanting to see snow monkeys.Japanese Wild Monkeys

…and maybe the kaiseki plays a big role in wanting the experience as well. OK! A lot! I’m a sucker for food pictures!!     

Kaiseki

 

 

Till next time,

Ness    

 

 

Ramen picture courtesy of: http://danielfooddiary.com/2013/04/23/daruma-ramen-house/

Kinkaku-ji Temple picture courtesy of:  http://www.angryboar.com/index.php/golden-pavilion-one-of-the-most-beautiful-japanese-temples-located-in-kyoto/

Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine picture courtesy of: http://www.urbancapture.com/20110514-day-155-fushimi-inari-taisha-shrine-kyoto-japan/

Chidlren’s Peace Monument picture courtesy of: http://footlooseinasia.blogspot.com/2010/07/children-peace-monument-hiroshima-peace.html

Itsukushima Shrine high tide picture courtesy of: http://www.asianpictures.org/itsukushima_shrine.html

Itsukushima Shrine low tide picture courtesy of: http://mstecker.com/pages/japmhir-miy-DSCF6684a2.htm

Matsumoto Castle picture courtesy of: http://dreamyourholidays.com/matsumoto-castle-oldest-castle-in-japan.html

Ryokan picture courtesy of: http://www.panoramio.com/photo/39611851

Japanese wild monkeys picture courtesy of: http://shineyourlightshineyourlight.blogspot.com/2012/01/winter-wonderland.html

Kaiseki picture courtesy of: http://heatherandscott.ca/category/japan-2/      

Leave a comment